features
Why no Indian Universities featured in the top 200 institutions globally
12 Oct 2012

In the past one month, two reputed surveys came out ranking the top 200 and 400 universities in the world. The rankings were Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) world university rankings and Times Higher Education (THE) rankings which featured not a single Indian university in the top 200 institutions at a global level. The academic fraternity dubbed it as a matter of national shame as India is the only BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) nation among the developing economies whose institutions have not been able to book a spot in the top 200 league.  

It is only the Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) who were featured in the ranking with some improving their positions. In the QS ranking,  IIT Delhi (212) and IIT Kanpur (278), have improved from their 2011 position, while in THE ranking IIT Kharagpur stands at 234, IIT Bombay at 258 and IIT Roorkee at 367. But, when the ranking are compared with other BRICS nations institutions the improvement seems dismal as their institutes have fared exceptionally well.

There are seven institutions from China has figured in top-200, while Russia’s Lomonosov Moscow State University stands at 112, University of Sao Paolo, Brazil is at 139, and South Africa’s University of Cape Town at 154.

In THE ranking India has some relief as another BRICS nation Russia has failed to make the top 200 list. China’s two top 200 institutions both rose, with Peking University moving from 49th to 46th and Tsinghua jumping 19 places from 71 to 52 supported by extremely strong income figures. Brazil and South Africa has only one, University of Sao Paulo in top 200 institutions at 158 and University of Cape Town at 113 respectively.  

Though the ranking is not very encouraging for India and a larger group of academicians believe that this is really matter of concern and we need to improve in the areas like research and innovation to earn a place in top league. Other groups of people are of the view that these ranking systems are most suited for the education system in western countries and not favourable for a country like India with entirely different education system.

India Education Review tried taking opinion of Vice Chancellors of some of the Universities.

Problems with India Higher Education System

Dr. N. Prabhudev, Former Vice Chancellor, Bangalore University said, “We can’t carry forward with the 19th century mindset, 20th century process and 21st century needs. With number of education bills stuck in Parliament, unions and people with vested interest block reforms in the country. We need to re-define the needs of students and teachers. Professors from outside are not called to teach and train. While the ones working in the country are not engaged in meaningful research, so it has become a chain where nobody wants to change. Selection of vice chancellors is more political than on merit. Governing bodies are in tune with the party in power - Left, Right or Centre.”

“Innovation requires collaboration. No University has innovation centres; we live in an age of stark contradictions. The world enjoys technologies of unimaginable sophistication; we have none. Satisfactory operational system of a university should be one under which the University is run freely by educationists and enjoy the autonomous rights of independent thinking and free expression within the framework of the national constitution and laws. It should be ensured that “Institutions of higher learning should be geared to the needs of society, run independently and practice democratic management in accordance with law, which is sorely missing in our system,” added Prabhu Dev.

Prof. R K Kale, Vice Chancellor, Central University of Gujarat said, “There are many reasons for that like lack of academic freedom, insufficient funding, lack of infrastructure, lack of support in research, non-availability of quality teachers etc. Practically, there is no autonomy for running the educational institutes. Most of our universities are starving of fund. The universities of foreign countries have academic freedom and are heavily funded. Recently India has increased the funding for higher education but still it is not sufficient to make universities internationally competitive. It is important to note that whenever nation is in financial difficulties, the universities are affected and suffered the most. The annual budget of the most of top listed 200 institutes is even higher than annual budget of some of states of our country.”

“Recently, the government has issued office memorandum on the economic measures and rationalization of expenditure which is also applicable to our universities. According to this memorandum, universities are supposed to cut down 10 per cent from their non-plan budget. The university cannot cut the salaries of teaching and non-teaching staff. As a result, non-salary components are decreased to the great extent. What remains with our universities, compared to international standard, is a peanut. From this limited money the institutes have to run its day-to-day affairs and forget about upgrading library, running laboratories, and other essential things such as inviting scholars,” opined Prof. Kale.

“Further, in this memorandum the universities are asked to hold only such conferences workshops, seminars and symposiums which are absolutely essential with mandatory 10 per cent cut on budgetary allocations for seminars and conferences. There is also ban on participation in workshops, conferences, presentation of papers abroad. Creation of posts is also banned. How academic expansion will take place without creation of new posts and positions and attending seminars and conferences? There is already 35 per cent vacant posts in higher education in our country the universities When there is no academic freedom, no good infrastructure, no quality teachers and no adequate funding how we expect our universities and academic institutes to compete with Ivy League and C9 Universities?,” asked Prof. Kale.

Dr. P Kaliraj, Vice Chancellor, Anna University said, “The present system through which these rankings are done are most suited to the western countries and US they give 25 per cent weight-age to noble laureates and 75 per cent to research while we focus on employability. Another major problem is related to funding as most of the funding by central government goes to IITs and IIMs or IISc and state universities get almost negligible amount of fund. They should consider different countries’ education system in mind before ranking the universities. The parameters used for ranking do not suit us thus our universities do not get place in the list of select top 200 universities.”

Nikhil Sinha, VC of Shiv Nadar University said, “QS and THE ranking heavily provide scores for research, the quality of the research, the publication record of the faculty and that’s where their focus is, they also rank you on the basis of Nobel laureates among your faculty. Universities in India do not do the research neither quantity nor quality wise. So, the ranking are heavily focussed on institutions that conduct research over institutions that are teaching focussed. We have some very good institutions like colleges of Delhi University they have very good under graduate courses and are teaching focussed but they do not do research, so they would not figure in these rankings.”

How to break into the top league?

Dr. N. Prabhudev opines giving greater academic freedom to the universities is the key. “We need first rate tangible assets like buildings, books, facilities, etc; In terms of human resources we need great teachers, students, administrative staff, and University culture. Educationists run the university, which enjoys autonomy, rights of independent thinking and free expression. It should operate independently and exercise democratic management in accordance with the law. The culture of a university should be a culture of truth seeking, Precision and discipline.”

 “The world famous universities such as Oxford and Cambridge exploit students’ potential and inspire their creativity. A university must have world class professors. A sufficient and necessary condition of becoming a first rate university is world class professors, the autonomy of professors and their dedication to their careers. Education should be supported by greater financial resources and stronger commitments. Economic and social development planning shall give priority to educational development. The fiscal budget shall first satisfy the needs of education and human resources development,” added Dev.

While Nikhil Sinha believes that taking certain informed steps can improve our ranking. “In the programmatic ranking of these rankings we do not do that bad but at university level we have to do good at all the levels in all the disciplines, the other problem is that we do not have multi disciplinary universities neither we are conducting that quality of research. Institutions that extend the frontiers of knowledge do well in these rankings. We need to improve upon these areas and automatically our ranking will improve.”

Prof. RK Kale is of the opinion that, “If we have to reach the international standards and go in the top 200 universities, we should not do what we are doing now. We only debate and discuss, make policies on education. We keep reminding ourselves on importance and significance of access to education, equity in education, quality and equality in education, as well as its relevance in life. Fortunately, we have made good policies but we failed in their implementation. It is also important to remember that our education system is different, the western universities and other countries are investing in education since long. We started it only few decades back. And therefore there is educationally huge gap between Indian and western universities. To narrow this educational gap the expenditure on education should be increased.”

“We should also think what is good for our nation, device our educational policies and implement them effectively. Our agenda should be focused on to enhancement of socio-economic status of every citizen through education. The ranking game appears to me as a business adventure. It has a hidden commercial agenda. We should not get trapped into it. However, it does not mean that we should ignore the ranking. The situation is changing and nation is giving lot of importance to education. I am sure the measures recently taken for higher education will bear the fruits and we will find at least few Indian universities/institutions in the select list of top 200 universities of the world in near future,” added Prof. Kale.

“Our education system is best suited for our country, if we really want to improve our ranking in these rankings we need to invest heavily in research as, if you look at the Nobel laureates they are innovators and researchers not academicians, we need to build a community, a generation of researchers and innovators to compete with best institutions around the world and this will improve our ranking,” said Anna University VC.

It seems there is a unanimous opinion among academicians that the primary reasons for underperformance of Indian institutions are lack of funding, lack of research, insufficient number of teachers. While somewhere there is lack of consensus on these rankings and their credibility but there is agreement that Indian Universities as well as the policy makers need to look beyond just giving degrees and have to focus on the research and innovation to get entry ticket for the top rank universities. The Centre also needs to bring a change in its outlook towards the education system and should invest money in state universities as they are the ones catering to the larger group of population. 

Comments

Your comment will be published after moderation.
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd><p>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.
Connect
Sign in using Facebook
VIRENDRA S. PATEL
13 Nov 2013

Very thought provoking and eye opener !! Thanks.

pushparaj
15 Jun 2013

Find List of top Universities in India, University Ranking in Academic Year, Degree and Courses offered by Universities. Top Universities in India with global rank & University program list. visit http://www.frosher.com/universities

Deepanshu
05 Mar 2013

If are IITs are not that much good then why USA takes majority of IITians? Why It don't take students from harvard and other universities???? Indian institutes are very good yes there is scope of improvement and it will always be because every institution requires time-to-time improvement but yes in my opinion indian institutes should be among top 100........12% scientists and 38% doctors in the US are Indians, and in NASA, 36% scientists are Indians. 34% employees at Microsoft, 28% at IBM, 17% at Intel and 13% at Xerox are Indians.

Ram Karna Singh
22 Nov 2012

If after 65 years of independence we could not produce enough education leaders to appoint as VCs in our universities and there is need to appoint politicians,beaurocrats and business men on these post then it is shameful. I f this trend continues then none of the universities will figure among top 500.Don't get disturbed if you don't find any among top 200 to-day

Devicharan R.
18 Oct 2012

The information in the article is really painful. We have understood that the problems are from many dimensions, but the solution now is that every individual who is in responsible positions related to academics should take initiative to give improve the situation.
For Example: The teachers should initiate/motivate students into some kind of research activities and try to build the culture of Research and Development.
We should be able to make realize the importance of Research and innovation.

manoj kamra
17 Oct 2012

If the present trend in IITs' of giving admission in PhD to attempters(having numerous attempts in B.Tech) is continued, we will find these very soon out from 400 list.

Raghbendra Jha
17 Oct 2012

Indian universities, with rare exceptions, do not foster a research culture. Sycophancy, particularly towards top bureaucrats and politicians, is much more important than research for career advancement. In fact it is a tribute to Indian researchers that they manage to do so much despite these obstacles. On the question of resource paucity it has been alleged that the Government of India and some private organizations have made generous grants to foreign universities, even as Indian universities languish in penury. Someone should investigate this.

Mukund Hambarde
16 Oct 2012

Looking into the situation and and funding problems, It seems that though we trying but the attempts are very scattered and so are not fruitful. We must not try on a broad basis but with concentrated efforts.
I opine that the Govt should select some (5 to 10) institutions having the maximum potential of coming to international standards. These need not essentially be IIt s .
After selection a program of 3 years should be prepared to uplift those point by point of the parameters and conditions laid down for evaluation by international standards. Nothing should come in way as obstacle at any cost. We may do away with some senseless rules to achieve the goal. they should have a special status and special funding pattern.
Within three years we can definitely elevate at least 5 institutions to the international ranking level. For these selected five institutions we must not leave any stone unturned.
If we determine nothing, so this too, is not impossible.
Let govt. decide to do it and determine to fulfill it.

Prakash Samnani
16 Oct 2012

Critically observe any state funded university in terms of infrastructure and administration! Teachers do not get basic amenities like good sitting place, a decent pc, even a decent washroom!
There are many good teachers, but most of their energy is lost in processing their research needs through bureaucracy, where they have to run around the administration for getting sanctions to use the funds that they manage from funding agencies. And for everything, only teacher is accountable, no one asks for or tries for administrative accountability. More than good teachers, we need good administration, infrastructure and working environment free from political pressures, and a change in mindset of parents who only consider professional courses as be best.

Dr. Rana Pratap Singh
16 Oct 2012

The Vice Chancellors are directly involved in policy making and execution of those policies ,and hence their views are a significant input to explore this deficiency,no doubt. I congratulate all of them for their significant input. Funds, manpower, culture and working atmosphere of the Institutions are really important componants, but we have to find out a respectable place in the world overall and our planners and executers of higher education can't escape from the accountability. Yes! more allocation of funds to higher education is needed ,which is to be utilized through the transparant procedures, a research cum teaching based working atmosphere in the campus and accountability at each stage may help us to develop a competitive but socially responsible education system for national needs and social equity for world class education to our people. We need an adequate management rather than administration and a non-polotical professional culture for our higher education,indeed.

Parthiban TR
16 Oct 2012

I cannot be countered if I say “every great individual who is truly successful in India was backed by the benchmarks set by his/her parents’”. That is to say that the benchmarking business starts at home. The individual gets success in touching the International benchmarks only when he has gone through the pains of attaining the National benchmarks. Not only an individual but an organization too has to go through the real, tough and inevitable guidelines to touch the benchmarks. India has organizations (like AICTE/NBA, NAAC, BCI, NCTE, PCI, MCI, CCH, CCIM, QCI, AIU…) who define the benchmarks for individuals and organizations. But I have seen workforce having “nightmares” whenever there used to be an NBA/NAAC/University visit to our organization. I have seen how documents used to be cooked in the last minute in order to get accredited. I saw that nobody, neither the organization nor the individuals took the benchmarks seriously. I know how anybody used to joke about any talk related to quality adherence. To score we must work hard, toil and think ethically about ourselves and the organization.
Majority of people working in majority of Indian Universities do not have the guts or energy or mindset or knowledge-base to abide by the standards and regulations set by the benchmarking organizations of India, including the Vice-Chancellors of Universities.
Prof.R.K.Kale is talking like a typical Gujju, “funds, funds and more funds”. We are not even half way towards building a scientific society, how can we think of being recognized in the first 200 in QS list? Talk about “Why teachers do not want to teach? Why students do not want to study? What are we lacking? How to solve this?” Dr.Prabhu Dev or Dr.P.Kaliraj are eligible to talk about QS because they are great visionaries with a scientific temperament, but what about their subordinates and subordinates to their subordinates.
People in India who blame 19th Century attitude, do they know what is 21st Century attitude? Indian Universities’ situation seems to be like that of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes of India, who have to cross generations while improving genetically to be at par with the Brahmins, the top 200 Universities in the QS list. They ARE ahead of India and that IS the truth. And that did not happen just like that. They have gone through a lot of thought and pain and research for decades and decades to come to such a state.
We don’t have a mouth to even discuss about QS. See Dr.N.C.Panda’s comment on 15th Oct… he writes “felicities” for “facilities”. I think he is an Indian and he is proud of the prefix “Dr.”.
We must respect our benchmarks first.
“Abrupt change is Artificial and Unstable, but Slow change is Natural and Stable”.

Joga Singh
16 Oct 2012

The worst is still to come. Since the 90s, the education is being handed over to the education mafia and the government schools are almost ruined throughout India. As a result, only the quite rich sections of society are able to enter even this largely flawed education system. These sections have zero interest in research, the financially disadvantageous option for them. Therefore, there is no possibility of improvement in our university education until and unless our government school system is strengthened in a way that each Indian child could have access to quality education. Still, we are eating the fruits of the earlier relatively better government school system. Wait for a few more years, the disaster will be visible in its full strength. Sadly, India is to be the looser and not the education mafia who has already their money lockers filled to the brim.

Nizam U. Khan
15 Oct 2012

Why should I trust these surveys? They should declare the number of publications and other points for all the Universities. My 22 publications have been wrongly credited to University of Colorsdo Boulder U.S.A. instead of Aligarh Muslim University, India by Microsoft Academic Search.
To verify this, search for "Nizam Ud-Din Khan, Citations" on 'Bing'. Click on the first result. You will get the first entry in the name "Nizam Ud-Din Khan, University of COLORADO Boulder, U.S.A." Below the graph, click on 'Publication.24' marked in red. You will get a list of 24 publications, out of which 22 publications are mine and have nothing to do with 'University of Colorado Boulder'. It can be verified from the abstracts of the 24 papers listed.

Prof J A K Tareen
15 Oct 2012

I just don't understand why all of us refuse to make one to one comparison of Indian and the well known foreign universities to first find the tangible differences. 1.The average student strength in Indian university is 3500 as compared to 20000 in west.So we lack the critical mass to see spikes of excellence,2. The undergraduate education here is fragmented from main university campus environment,where as in west the the student enters the university undergraduate class in an university environment.3. Demographic diversity is the main character of western universities both in faculty and the students.But Indian universities are so regional and parochial that that many universities,the teachers teach in vernacular language and students write answers in vernacular language and hypocritically get a degree indicating medium as English.4. The affiliation system for colleges is a cancer and unless the new model of college cluster universities recommended by my committee to UGC is implemented ,no change in undergraduate education is possible.5. The problem is also with the MHRD and UGC who have been so slow in their action and impervious to innovative academic input, even if you want to bring a change,you become helpless and frustrated. Please don't forget that change in any system comes through leaders of change, aggressive and innovative and fearless implementation of new ideas and not when the government keeps the post of UGC chairman vacant for 2 years, doesn't have any mechanism for assessment and appraisal of of universities,the only assessment body NAAC is sick with no chairman, and so on. We are yes men hovering around corridors of power not willing to speak out what is in our mind. The UGC needs a shakeup and mediocrity at top should never be accepted.
If the above basic structural changes are brought in and make our universities not regional but heterogeneous then take up the other vital issues such as
1. Networking for inter disciplinary teaching and research,2. Substantial funding for Library and laboratories, 3.funding for improving infrastructure,4.CBCS system with cross disciplinary learning5. Ambiance created with state of the facilities, buildings created with the best of architects and not by public works departments with the fear of auditors and CAG.
Finally let me tell you all that all of us are talking of faculty crunch,and Dr Vedprakash is coming out with all kinds of ideas which only lead to recycling of the same stuff from one university to another. THE SIMPLE BOLD STEP THAT MHRD SHOULD TAKE IS ALLOW 20% OF FACULTY TO BE RECRUITED FROM ABROAD (INDIANS AND FOREIGNERS) FOR ONE TO FIVE YEAR CONTRACT ON SPECIAL TERMS, AS ONE TIME MEASURE FOR NEXT TEN YEARS.This step will not only meet our faculty shortage but will bring a sea change in our work culture,attitudes and our teaching pedagogy. Most of what I am saying was submitted to UGC and Planning commission by our working group. We are hoping for implementation, but like last XI plan, the UGC has not even started the exercise of evaluating the projects submitted by all the universities. Let us bring the basic structural changes in the system which by itself require a huge investment of over 100,000 crores during XII plan.Higher education. But the machinery is so poor I am afraid like the XI plan will not be able to spend even one third of it.

Pradeep Sharma
15 Oct 2012

UGC has turned higher education into a farce.MCQ's have destroyed the any exam system's value.In this country knowledge is not persued degrees are persued.Only god knows what is in the mind of the syllabus makers.Today someone who wants to study pure physics has to study topics like electronics, computers etc which are pure engineering subjects.What a waste.Students have no flexibility in chosing topics of their choice.

Rajiv Pandey
15 Oct 2012

Only accountability from all levels i.e. teachers, students, job providers and the government and private sector can made our education system effective. How the ethical and moral issues can be upgraded among the young mind including the teachers may also be one of the aspects. Infrastructure at the highest level will aid these all. Nothing else can upgrade us among the 200 ranks.

Manoj Kumar Tiwari
15 Oct 2012

I am of opinion that we are no where in rank of best university because we are habitual to believe that gold is diamond and say it 200 times daily then every one start believing the same. Unless we develop respect for good work and allow it to known and praised by others and let that individual be acknowledged by the system then it creates good environment and magnify such feelings.
Even to analyse this problem Mr Abhay Anand has picked up those experts who are not in the top 300 lists. IIT Delhi, KGP, kanpur and Roorkee, no one is invited to give their opinion why. It is because you were feeling comfortable with these experts and you are not willing to compromise your leisure and asked their present and former director to say on this topic. Pl. talk to KGP administration they will give you full report on this topic but you dont to highlight achievers instead you feel happy with your known people.
This is one reason -- Giving high priority and credit to wrong leaders and projecting mediocre as champion by our media and society is prime reason of our sluggish performance -of course one can not ignore bureaucratic ways of functioning of our educational system.

Dr. N. C Panda
15 Oct 2012

Due to lack of proper Research work our Universities have no rank/position in the world.
Secondly, as some of the experts have told that Indian Universities have no such felicities for Research works, etc. Besides, the researcher is not given true incentives for any higher Research work in India. So, to get proper rank in the world class Universities our Govt. UGC should provide right facilities to the Researchers.

Denys P. Leighton
15 Oct 2012

What Nikhil Sinha (VC Shiva Nadar University) says about the QS rankings and 'teaching' institutions (those focused mainly on undergraduate BA/BSc teaching) should be kept in mind. QS rankings omit the high-calibre American (and other) teaching colleges--Amherst, Smith, Sarah Lawrence, Vassar, Oberlin, Carleton, Grinnell, and so forth. A ranking system that treated teaching seriously would have to include the aforementioned institutions, because many of their graduates gain entry to postgraduate and professional programmes at the highest ranking 'research' universities. In India we need to nurture the teaching colleges as well as the research institutions, because it is the former that provide the human 'raw material' that higher research and industry require for their functioning.

BMan
15 Oct 2012

Great article where prescriptions are given without identifying the problem. What criteria are used to derive the rankings. India might be lagging behind. But what about Russia? Do we believe that they are so backward academically?

RAMESH KUMAR LALWANI
15 Oct 2012

Having worked insome of the top 200 rank universities in Asia and Europe I agree with most of the comments made by experts. There are two more aspects which have been ignored by top Indian universities to be in the top 200 list are 1. HIRING of top quality academician irrespective of their age, colour, sex, religion, natioality where ever possible, 2. adimission to as many as possible foreign students, 3. Applying for patents and copy right and 4. Publications in high impact factor and high citation index journals.

Dr Anoop Saxena
15 Oct 2012

Except a few sensible ones, a large number of comments made in this article by the respected VC's of various Indian universities are far from reality, and mere excuses to continue with our own self deception. The fact is that we never question our own attitude! So, it is easier to play "the VIRTUAL GAME of BLAME of lack of funding, infrastructure, and what not" than to deal with "the FAIR and REAL GAME of RANKING". If things are not at right or up to the mark today, then they are only because of the lack of right kind of people in the system.....the people who are capable, who care and have vision to take the current academics beyond and make it par to the international quality.
One of the most basic thing that must be addressed today is the unfairness which goes on to a very large extent in the academic recruitment process in a larger number of the Indian universities and the institutes. A young aspirant/applicant who might have turned out to be the most deserving candidate never receives an interview call from the system, and never even comes to know about what had happened to his/her application. Favor, hypocrisy, and above all mediocrity have made the recruitment process largely hollow and hopeless. This generally turns out to be discouraging to the independent, well qualified, and highly capable candidates. In fact a large number of them then do not even hesitate to find their way outside of the country. This, in fact, is the basic cause for the huge BRAIN DRAIN outside of the country. I urge the authorities to take the note of this simple but vital fact before its too late to face the internationally growing challenges of academics in maintaining quality.

Dr B Suresh
15 Oct 2012

It is with great interest I read the article and the observations made by the learned Vice Chancellors. I would definitely like to endorse Dr Prabudevs remark that with 19th century mindset and 20th century process, 21st century needs cannot be addressed. Be it human resource, infrastructure or the policy , they have to move with times and needs that change continuously. I would also like to mention here that the state funded universities or the central universities that are expected to set new thoughts and technologies in motion are burdened of administering affiliated colleges in their region or the state. This definitely drains the resources of the university in carrying out mandates that were originally not planned for. The human resource at such university's are utilized for administering such activities rather than nurturing excellence in education and research. Further with the establishment of specialist universities such as the medical university, technical university , etc the interdisciplinary approach to education and research is marginalized. Lastly the environment and policy for the privately funded university's participation in higher education is not conducive for nurturing excellence in education and research as there is always the doubt and predicament of such organizations how far they should go with the investment in their growth when the governance structure of the university is being delinked with the sponsoring society that is bringing in the funding. If we critically examine what made universities in other countries excel and achieve the ranking one can find the answer in academic freedom, attracting and retaining excellent human resource and private participation. There is a need for the nation to debate and decide on the role of the universities in promoting excellence in education and research VS becoming an affiliating, exam conducting and degree awarding body! There is a need for promoting basic sciences and humanities in the university system vis a vis professional courses such as medical, engineering, etc at
universities. There's is a need for evolving mechanisms where universities can attract talent and compensate them based on their expertise and performance rather than the standardized structure presently being followed ( for sure such individuals can generate enough resources to meet such compensation without burden to the university). Lastly everything relies on leadership, how the university's leadership is identified, decided and entrusted can make a difference in finding our universities in the top echelon of the global university rankings!

Professor Venkata Raghotham
15 Oct 2012

There are a whole range of reasons why Chinese Universities are in the top 200 Universities of the world and not Indian ones. First, the governance mechanism of Universities is at fault. There are far too many regulatory agencies in the field of Higher Education. It is time, in this globalized world to think of removing University or tertiary education from the concurrent list and place it in the Central List of the Constitution. State Universities are unable to cope with the political pressures they face and the resource crunch is actually making them shrink. Secondly, the emphasis must shift from so called Research to Teaching. Unfortunately in the Indian Universities teaching is not rewarded and all rewards are for research and as the Global Rankings show did does not count as a knowledge producer. If we concentrate on teaching maybe in the next 20 years we will be able to get into the world ranking. Thirdly, undergraduate and post graduate education must be brought into the framework of the Universities. Continuing the colonial legacy of dividing Colleges from Universities is wrong because most of the College which are run by state governments are dysfunctional. Lastly, Universities must face competition in the form of foreign univerities.

Bhaskar
15 Oct 2012

We are failing due to lack patronage for merit in our system. When Corruption is becoming the 'role model' and personal loyalities gain preference over integrity this is the result. It is common to see the mediocres being chosen to lead academic institutions. Mediocrity breeds medicrity!

A.Amudavalli
15 Oct 2012

True that India is the only BRICS nation not to be spotted on the world's map of ranking the academic institutions. Who are to be blamed?? The Government? MHRD? UGC? Politicians? The leaders of the higher educational Institutions? Bureaucrats? Faculty? Students and scholars? Academic culture??? Quality education? where is the missing link?? The string is to be woven by the team of all these with more commitment and seriousness. Is it so impossible?? When will this end and we too emerge in the top ranked list? It is a big worry for all of us especially when is no way lacking in any of the potentials required to emerge as a leading country in Higher education.

D.R.Sahu
15 Oct 2012

Teaching Universities in India can not afford to aspire for featuring world ranking.
So far as research UGC research projects are concerned, no serious teachers are interested even in applying due to red tapism in their respective institutions. First of all UGC should change its mind set. UGC should be little proactive and identify the right people for undertaking research and assign the research project on invitation. It is not difficult these days to find out serious academicians.

Dr.M.Gurusamy
15 Oct 2012

I agree with Dr.Prabhudev.The problem is the contadiction among 19th century mindset,20th century processes ,and 21st century needs(originally quoted by Sam Pitroda).For example,we have institutional leaders like Dr.kaliraj with 19th century mindset managing 20th century processes meeting not even 20th century needs but 19th century needs.He is talking about focus on employability.he is uninformed.Employability is as low as 25% among engineering graduates in India as per ASSOCHAM-Mckinsey survey.India is lowest among BRIC countries in terms of this indicator according to OECD surveys.Most of our vice chancellors are not aware of economic and social implications of higher education.Because India does not have this requirement,because they are western requirement according to Dr.Kaliraj. Leadership is most important for any organisation.A leader is a visionary,knowledgeable,strategist,and lastly a performer.Are our VCs are leaders?They are either famous people for various reasons or well connected.how can you expect results from them?The time is not very far for chinese professors teaching at Indian universities.We have been consciously and consistently producing poor qualitygraduates and we are complaining about shortage of teachers and poor quality of teachers.Sheer hypocracy.Hypocracy is Indian value.Therefore there is less optimism.

Prof T.K.Raja
15 Oct 2012

India's education system is traditionally upper-class oriented and corrupt. All our IITs, IISERs, IIMs, NITs and NIPERs serve only the children of the upper-class. But these temples of learning were created with taxpayers who are aam aadhmi. It is common knowledge that students of poor families can not make it to IITs or similar institutions for economic reasons. Recently I came across on FACEBOOK how a cobbler's daughter could study B.Tech in an IIT with great difficulty. Only by providing equal opportunities to all Meritorious students our universities may be ranked among the top 100 universities in the world.

NANDAKISHOR
15 Oct 2012

Stop Commercialization of Education and also Admissions should be pure on merit basis not on Reservation ,definitely our Institutes will also figure in World's Top Universities

AKBAR
15 Oct 2012

As they are reputed surveys, we Indians couldn't manage to get hold to lobby (in the form of caste, region, reservation etc) them, If we would have had any of our relatives or friends in the survey committee we would have had a fair chance.